Police Cadet Applicants
HUTTO Police Department is now taking applications for Police Cadets. Are you ready to earn the badge and make a difference?
The Hutto Police Department is looking for highly qualified, community-oriented individuals who are motivated to make a positive impact in the fast growing and diverse Hutto community we serve.
The Hutto community is seeking individuals who possess good decision-making skills, good judgment, who can handle pressure, are dependable, physically fit, possess emotional control and above all, have impeccable integrity. Click here for an application packet.
Applicants may be rejected for employment at any point in the screening process.
To become a Hutto Police Cadet, candidates must:
- Must be a U.S. citizen.
- Be at least 21 years of age at the time of application.
- Have a valid Texas Driver License at the time of appointment.
- Possess a high school diploma or GED.
- If the applicant has prior military service, the applicant must have been discharged with an honorable or medical discharge.
- 30 college credit hours is preferred.
- Meet all physical requirements and be free from disease or physical/mental defects that would prevent you from performing the essential duties of a police officer.
- Be able to pass all steps of the hiring process and meet all other Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) minimum requirements.
- No convictions involving family violence.
- No conviction of a Class B misdemeanor, including those disposed of through Deferred Adjudication or Probated Sentence within the past 10 years, to include the Uniform Code of Military Justice.
- No conviction of a Class A misdemeanor, including those disposed of through Deferred Adjudication or Probated Sentence within the past 10 years, to include the Uniform code of Military Justice.
- No convictions of a Class C misdemeanor or comparable law within the last five years. (Excluding traffic violations.)
- No criminal charges pending or under indictment for any criminal offense.
- Having an excessive record of traffic convictions or negligent collisions.
- Not on probation for any criminal offense.
- Illicit or Illegal use or possession of marijuana in any form within the past two years from the date of application, not including use or possession prior to the age of 17.
- See the complete list of disqualifiers located in the initial application packet.
Completed application packets MUST be received by 5:00 PM on Tuesday, July 26, 2022.